top of page

When I focused on this, everything fell into place

We’re in the last lap of 2023 — and if you want to end the year with a giant exclamation point of accomplishment, there’s ONE THING you can do:


Zero in on your “Sphere of Control.”


That means focusing on things you actually have control over, like:

  • Your actions

  • Your mindset

  • Your effort

… And letting go of everything else.


Here’s a graphic that shows how this sphere works:



When you focus on the things you control, you move FORWARD toward your goals.


A few health and fitness examples of your sphere of control:

  • Your workouts

  • The quality of the food you eat

  • Your performance and consistency

Plus, your efforts in your “things you can control” circle carry a bonus. They can power the “things you can influence” by helping you make gains there, too.


Some health & fitness-related examples in your sphere of influence:

  • Setting up your bedroom so it’s cool, dark, and quiet, to help you get a great night of sleep

  • Being consistent with your workouts and nutrition, to balance your hormones, to lose weight or get into shape

  • Keeping an up-to-date calendar (including time for workouts and self-care), to stop your schedule from getting out of control

There are also things you can’t control or influence, no matter how hard you try! To name a few: the weather, the passing of time, and your genetics.


It’s much better to work WITH those things than drive yourself nuts trying to control them.


I do a quick scan of my “sphere of control” every few months. It helps me streamline my thinking so I can focus on the things that I can do to move me forward, faster.


Right now, for me, that means staying consistent with my stress management and blocking off time in my calendar NOW so that I don’t get sidetracked by all the hustle of the holidays.


What does it mean for you? What are your top 2-3 actions to put on “repeat” for the rest of the year?


Let’s do this! :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page